Total Pageviews

Thursday, May 30, 2019

Book Review: Miss Saunders Takes a Journey (Saunders Saga #2) by G.G. Vandagriff

Miss Saunders Takes a Journey (Saunders Saga #2)


During her second London Season, the Incomparable, Miss Arabella Saunders, is running from gossiping tongues. 
She flees to Bath, accompanied by eccentric chaperones Miss Braithwaite (with her tortoise, Henry Five) and Lady Clarice. Almost immediately two gentlemen enter her circle of acquaintance. Appealing to her adventurous spirit, Mr. Charles Rollins encourages her to emigrate to South Africa with him. Cautious Lord James Eubanks warns her of the perils of such a course. 
The standards of the day do not favor a spirit as independent as Arabella’s. As she bridles at their restraints, events conspire to drive her, first to Alcester, a village in the English countryside, then to a prolonged stay in the Yorkshire Dales.

She is running, but can she outrun her heart? Will she retreat or grasp the future life is offering her?


G.G. Vandagriff
G.G. Vandagriff is the author of over thirty novels Amazon #1 Bestselling Author. The Last Waltz, the first novel in her 20th Century Historical Romance Series won the Whitney Award for Best Historical Novel in 2009. There are now two more books in that series—Exile and Defiance. 
Thirteen of her novels are Regency romances, compared by critics to the witty novels of Georgette Heyer. She has also written a lively genealogical mystery series featuring Briggie and Alex, two whacky widows, as sleuths. Her most recent publications are Romantic Suspense. Her trilogy featuring Breaking News, Sleeping Secrets, and Balkan Echo tell the tale of high profile TV journalists--the Super Sleuths of WOOT TV station in Chicago. 
GG graduated from Stanford and received her master’s degree from George Washington University. She worked as an associate editor at Stanford’s Hoover Institution, an assistant treasurer in the Harvard Treasurer’s office, a bond analyst at Fidelity Investments, and an international banker for Continental Illinois National Bank (later acquired by Bank of America).
She and her husband David are the parents of three children and seven grandchildren, her greatest joys in life. Her favorite novel? Jane Eyre. She also loves Florence, Sundance Resort, The Voice, hot chocolate, lilacs, and dachshunds.
Find out more about her books, download a free novella, and sign up for her newsletter at Also, be the first to know when Vandagriff’s next book is available by following her at to receive new releases and discount alerts


This is the first book that I have read from my author. I fell in love with the story synopsis and the cover and was super excited to check out someone new. This book is set in regency era and paid close attention to detail. While I have not read a lot from this era, I felt that I was getting an accurate lesson. The characters are well written. They are written as real people. I liked the eccentric-ness of the characters. It made them unique. You can feel their emotions as you read. While this is a sweet romance book, you will find a few hintings at affairs. The storyline is intruiguing and while this is the 2nd book in the series, I had no problem following along. I enjoyed reading this book and look forward to reading more from this author. 

I recevied a copy of this book through the author/publisher all thoughts are my own. 

No comments:

Post a Comment